Weekend Plans?

For those of you who don’t read Russian, this poster is in no way advertising what you think. And despite appearances, it is not an example of the humorous use of English about which I posted before. In other words, there was (sadly, perhaps) no moderately debauched speed dating lunch in Almaty. There was, however, a “New Year’s hand-made presents ‘garage sale’ and ‘speed dating’-style lunch for young clothing designers (presumably between designers and customers) featuring the music of local band Modest Debauchery.” I did attend, since it was taking place in my favorite café (confusing named Cafeteria), but I did not buy any of the overpriced handcrafts. My family is getting cheap stuff for Christmas! I hope you’re looking forward to it, mom, dad, Clark and Clare!

With any luck, I’ll post again tomorrow. Until then, I hope you are all enjoying holiday and pre-holiday festivities.

Leave a Reply

